Volume 11, Number 1 August 8, 2003

About Us
Issue Dates
Ad Information
Back Issues
OCN Policies
This Issue
News Stories
Feature Articles
Coming Events

New members join Board

Two new and one re-elected member are taking part in U of S Board of Governors deliberations these days, helping to make major financial and policy decisions for an organization with an annual budget of $257 million.

Two members began three-year terms July 1 as the result of their election as Senate representatives.

Judy Buzowetsky

Judy Buzowetsky

Newly elected member Judy Buzowetsky, of Weyburn and Blaine Lake, is a U of S Home Ec. and Education graduate and retired after 34 years as a teacher.

Buzowetsky held numerous positions in the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation, the Canadian Federation of University Women, and the Canadian College of Teachers. She has also been active in a wide variety of community groups, and has won numerous awards of merit and achievement.

Board member Gary Carlson has been re-elected by the Senate to the Board of Governors.

Gary Carison

Gary Carison

Carlson graduated from the U of S in the early 1960s with bachelor's and master's degrees in Economics. He has been on Senate for 15 years and has been active in alumni fundraising, and was a member of the Sodbuster's Club that began the 1987-90 campaign for the new College of Agriculture building.

He has been an agrologist, community and church worker for more than 35 years, helped to start many ventures such as the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame, and has received many awards and honors, including the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal.

U of S Students' Union President Robin Mowat joined the Board in May after taking the helm of the USSU. Mowat is a student in English and History, he was a managing editor of The Sheaf in 2001-02, and served as a U of S senator in 2002-03.

He is also an active member of 737 (Saskatoon) Communication Squadron, in the Canadian Forces Reserve. He has served in operations like the Red River flood and the Quebec ice-storm, and as a peacekeeper in the UN-monitored ceasefire between Syria and Israel

The Board of Governors has 12 members - six appointed by the provincial government, four elected (two by Senate, one by U of S faculty, and one by students), and two ex-officio members (the University Chancellor and the President).

Current members are:

Ex-Officio -

  • President Peter MacKinnon
  • Chancellor Tom Molloy

Appointed by Government -

  • Shelley Brown
  • Sylvia Fedoruk (term expired but serving until replacement is named)
  • Herman Rolfes (term expired but serving until replacement is named)
  • Dallas Howe
  • Chief Garry Standing
  • Gordon Thiessen (Chair)

Elected by Senate -

  • Judy Buzowetsky
  • Gary Carlson

Elected by Students -

  • Robin Mowat

Elected by Faculty -

  • Ron Steer

For more information, contact communications.office@usask.ca

News Index
Next Article

Home · About Us · Issue Dates · Submissions · Ad Information · Back Issues · OCN Policies · Search OCN