Edwards hosts high school business case competition

A total of 72 students––on 24 teams from around Saskatchewan and one team from Manitoba––participated in the case competition, which featured a cases on personal finance and entrepreneurship.

The competition was created by a handful of business education students from the University of Regina three years ago. This was the first time it was hosted in Saskatoon. The competition, modelled after JDC West, gave the competitors a few hours to prepare a 15 minute presentation on their case. Each team then presented its case to a panel of judges comprised of representatives from Edwards School of Business, Hill School of Business in Regina, and the Saskatchewan business community.

Murray Edwards, donor and alumnus of Edwards, provided some extra incentive for those competing. Each student who participated this year' and then chooses to study at Edwards following Grade 12, will receive a $1,000 award, renewable for up to four years. First and second place winners in each of the cases will receive $2,000 and $1,500 respectively, also renewable for up to four years.

The rankings for the case competition were as follows:

Entrepreneurship Case

First Place: Tiffany McIvor, Coden Nikbahkt and Scott Pettigrew (Campbell Collegiate, Regina)

Second Place: Aisha Ghulam, Eman Mohammed, Khadija Syed (Huda School, Regina)

Third Place: Kenaston School (Kenaston)

Personal Finance Case

First Place: Talha Alvi and Muhammad Rehman (Huda School, Regina)

Second Place: Sonia Kalburg, Shaylin Pillay, Janelle Salm (Campbell Collegiate, Regina)

Third Place: Michael A. Riffel (Catholic High School, Regina)

School of the Year

Campbell Collegiate (Regina)

The School of the Year title is based on a combination of points from the case competition and school spirit. Next year the competition and conference will be hosted at Hill School of Business, with plans to return to Edwards in 2016.

Congratulations to the winners and to the participants who will be joining our business school and receiving these inaugural awards!
Share this story