Third-year medical student Laura Neuburger has been selected to become a 2019 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award laureate. Photo by Dave Stobbe.

USask medical student receives Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Award

A University of Saskatchewan (USask) medical student is among 17 individuals who are part of a new generation of health leaders and innovators.

Third-year medical student Laura Neuburger has been selected as one of the 2019 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) Award recipients from across the country.

“I am so honoured and humbled to have been selected for this award,” Neuburger said. “I am grateful for the incredible mentors who have encouraged and supported me along the way.”

The award involves a $5,000 cash prize and a trip to the 2020 Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Vancouver. The ceremony will also serve as an opportunity to meet other CMHF Laureates and health leaders from across Canada.

The recipients are selected based on a number of criteria including perseverance, collaboration and an entrepreneurial spirit.

Neuburger is following her passion for neuroscience and medical imaging. She has taken on positions as president of both College of Medicine ultrasound and diagnostic groups, which involved teaching hands-on skill sessions.

She also pursued an assistantship with the Cameco MS Neuroscience Research Centre, and an honour’s thesis with the Neurocognition and Psychophysics Laboratory.

“There are so many wonderful people and inspirational leaders in medicine, both in our college and at medical schools across the country,” Neuburger said.

“I am excited for the opportunity to represent USask and the College of Medicine and bring the Saskatchewan spirit to Vancouver,” she added.

To read more about Laura Neuburger and the CMHF award, please visit the CMHF website.

Article re-posted on .
View original article.

Share this story