Students' union awards honour excellence on campus

The University of Saskatchewan Students’ Union (USSU) held their 25th annual Experience in Excellence Awards, which commends individual academic and administrative excellence that enhances the student experience at the university.

The awards show appreciation for faculty, staff and students who strive to enhance the student experience at the U of S. 

“The Experience in Excellence Awards is the USSU’s annual opportunity to congratulate and give thanks to teachers, professionals, volunteers and students who have excelled in their duties to serve the students and our great university,” said Caroline Cottrell, USSU general manager. “Each of this year’s recipients has clearly demonstrated that it’s possible for one person to make a difference.”

Selected by students, the Teaching Excellence Award recognizes those who have demonstrated enthusiasm, organization and fairness in evaluation, providing exceptional commitment and support to their classrooms. The 2016-17 winners are: 

  • Steven Rayan, mathematics and statistics
  • Barbara Phillips, management and marketing
  • Karen Schwean-Lardner, animal and poultry science
  • Patrick Kelly, St. Thomas More College
  • Jeff Schoenau, soil science
  • Nadya Foty-Oneschuk, St. Thomas More College
  • Simonne Horwitz, history
  • Fred Phillips, accounting
  • Brian Zulkoskey, physics
  • Carolyn Brooks, sociology

View the full list of winners on the USSU website.

Share this story