U of S alumni honoured with Saskatchewan Order of Merit

Lieutenant Governor W. Thomas Molloy has announced the names of the six new recipients—two of whom are University of Saskatchewan alumni—to be invested into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, the province's highest honour.

“Saskatchewan’s motto is, ‘from many peoples, strength,’ and these six exceptional individuals exemplify the strength our province derives from its citizens,” said Molloy, a U of S alum who served as the chancellor of the university from 2001 to 2007.

The 2018 recipients who are U of S alumni are:

  • Dr. Robert Calder, professor emeritus and author, Saskatoon;
  • Maurice Delage, president of Delage Farms Ltd., Indian Head.

Long-time U of S library employee Neil Richards, LGBT archivist and activist of Saskatoon was also inducted posthumously. Noted Canadian playwright and former U of S student Gail Bowen was inducted as well.

This year’s investees into the Saskatchewan Order of Merit will join the 229 individuals who have previously been invested.

For more information visit www.saskatchewan.ca/honoursawards.