The Honorable Dr. Lillian Eva Quan Dyck is set to receive the 2019 Women of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient. (Photo: Dave Stobbe)

USask community honoured as YWCA Women of Distinction

In recognition of her groundbreaking career as a University of Saskatchewan (USask) professor and her work in advocating for equity in the education and employment of women, Senator Lillian Dyck (BA’66, MA’70, PHD’81) has been honoured with the 2019 Women of Distinction lifetime achievement award.

By University Communications

Dyck, the first female First Nations senator and first Canadian born Chinese senator, was one of 13 award recipients at Saskatoon YWCA’s Nutrien 2019 Women of Distinction Awards ceremony on Tuesday at TCU Place.

Several other members of the USask community were honoured during the ceremonies:

  • Athletics Award
    • Evelyn Nesdole (BAPE’70, BED’71, PGD’84)
  • Community Building Award
    • Susan Delanoy (former staff)
  • Health & Wellness Award
    • Della Magnusson (BSN’09)
  • Leadership & Professions Award
    • Frances Walley (PHD’93; current staff/faculty)
  • Research & Technology
    • Dr. Kalowatie Deonandan (PhD) (current staff/faculty)

Since 1982, Saskatoon’s Women of Distinction Awards has honoured hundreds of women for their leadership and contributions to our community. The awards program is renowned nationally as one of the most prestigious awards for women. A total of 62 women were nominated this year.

Read more at The StarPhoenix.