The Honorable Dr. Lillian Eva Quan Dyck is set to receive the 2019 Women of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient. (Photo: Dave Stobbe)

USask community recognized as YWCA Women of Distinction nominees

University of Saskatchewan (USask) faculty, staff, students and alumni are once again recognized by the Saskatoon YWCA with the annual Women of Distinction Awards nominations.

Since 1982, Saskatoon’s Women of Distinction Awards has honoured hundreds of women for their leadership and contributions to our community. The awards program is renowned nationally as one of the most prestigious awards for women.

Among those being honoured in 2019 is Senator Lillian Dyck, who will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award in part for her work in advocating for equity in the education and employment of women, Chinese Canadians and Aboriginals. An alumna with USask (BA’66, MA’70, PHD’81), she is the first female First Nations senator and first Canadian born Chinese senator.

Other notable nominees include:

  • Athletics Award
    • Evelyn Nesdole (BAPE’70, BED’71, PGD’84)
    • Kimberly Davy (MPH’14)
  • Community Building Award
    • Darlene Brander (BED’95)
    • Susan Delanoy (former staff)
    • Karen Robson (BCOMM’13)
    • Abigail Zita Seshie (PhD student)
  • Education Award
    • Priscilla Settee (BA’76, BED’87, PHD’07; current staff/faculty)
    • Michelle Prytula (BCOMM’92, BED’95, MEDUC’04, PHD’08; current staff/faculty)
    • Valerie Korinek (current staff/faculty)
    • Debbie Pushor (current staff/faculty)
    • Naheda Sahtout (GPSC’17; current student)

  • Entrepreneurship Award
    • Jennilee Cardinal Schultz (former student)
    • Jennifer Kardynal (MPH’12)

  • Health & Wellness Award
    • Susan Tupper (PHD’12; former staff/faculty)
    • Della Magnusson (BSN’09)
    • Haylie Lashta (BSKI’09, MPT’11)
    • Carolyn Schur (former staff/faculty)

  • Leadership & Professions Award
    • Candace Laing (BCOMM’99; former staff/faculty)
    • Frances Walley (PHD’93; current staff/faculty)
    • Candace Wasacase-Lafferty (BA’18; current staff/faculty)

  • Research & Technology
    • Kalowatie Deonandan (current staff/faculty)
    • Candice Jackel-Cram (BSC’03, PHD’09)
    • Mays Aiyed Mohan Al-Dulaymi (PHD’18)
    • Andrea Hawrysh (BSC’98)
    • Angie Bugg (BE'85)
    • Sarah Buhler (LLM’11; current faculty)

  • 29 and Under Award for Young Women
    • Tara Desroches (BED’13)
    • Amanda Guthrie (BA’16; former staff/faculty)

  • Saskatchewan Spirit
    • Terri Hansen-Gardiner (current staff/faculty)
    • Amanda Perrot (BSC’06)

View the full list on the YWCA website.

The 2019 Women of Distinction Awards Dinner takes place on Tuesday, May 14 at TCU Place.

Share this story