The Order of Canada recognizes people for their contributions to communities throughout Canada.

USask community appointed to the Order of Canada

Four members of the University of Saskatchewan (USask) community are set to receive one of the country’s highest civilian honours by being appointed to the Order of Canada.

Several members of the community with strong ties to USask have been named to the Order of Canada, a distinction for their outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to Canada.

Chief Darcy Bear (BUSADM’09, DDL’14) is the long-serving chief of the Whitecap Dakota First Nation and has led his community to a journey of sustained economic growth. Bear is the subject of a Green&White feature next month.

Crop scientist Alfred Slinkard, an American by birth, joins as an Honourary Member, a designation for foreign-born recipients, is regarded as a pioneer in lentil production in the province and the country.

Dan Bereskin (LL.B`63) founded one of the very first boutique intellectual property law firms in Toronto in 1965 (Bereskin & Parr) and is also the author of one of an intellectual property law textbook.

Stanley Hamilton (BComm’60) is a professor emeritus at Sauder School of Business whose contributions go well beyond the academic world and leave an indelible mark on the arts, urban planning, industry governance and property tax reform.

From left: Chief Darcy Bear, Alfred Slinkard, Dan Bereskin and Stanley Hamilton. (Photos: University of Saskatchewan/University of Saskatchewan Archives/Bereskinparr.com/gov.bc.ca)

Those being honoured will receive their medals from Governor General Julie Payette at a later date.

Established in 1967, the Order of Canada is the cornerstone of the Canadian Honours System and recognizes people in all sectors of Canadian society for their contributions to communities throughout Canada.

Read more on this story at The StarPhoenix.

Share this story