From left: Meagan Manson, Derek Epp, Astrid Nyame, Andrew Johnson, Dave Adolph, Jordon Cooke and Libby Epoch (photo by

Huskie Salute recognizes excellence in athletics

Huskie Athletics handed out major awards at the annual Huskie Salute Friday night at TCU Place.

By University Communications

Astrid Nyame is 16th track and field athlete to win the Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy for Female Athlete of the Year. She struck gold at both the Canada West and U SPORTS championships in the 60-metre hurdles. On the national stage, she secured her first-ever gold medal at the event crossing the finish line in 8.31 seconds. The time is the second-best in program history. In her final year of eligibility, Nyame was undefeated in four conference meets, as well as finished third on the North American stage at the prestigious Armoury Track and Field Event in New York.

Goaltender Jordon Cooke won the E. Kent Phillips Trophy for Male Athlete of the Year for the second straight season. He continued to turn heads in his third season with the Huskie men's hockey team being named the Canada West and U SPORTS Goaltender of the Year for the second straight season. Also named a First Team All-Canadian, Cooke posted a 19-4-2 record, a 1.94 goals against average and a .929 save percentage during the 2016-17 season. He posted four shutouts in the regular season tying a Canada West record, he added two more shutouts at the University Cup.

The event also featured the achievements of the athletes of the University of Saskatchewan's 15 athletic teams. Canada West and U SPORTS All-Stars/All-Canadians and award winners, along with fifth-year athletes were also honoured at the celebration. 

Read more at Huskie Athletics.