Community leaders bolster Board of Trustees for USask Huskies

Committed to creating the best student-athlete experience in the country, the University of Saskatchewan (USask) has appointed new members to its Huskie Athletics Board of Trustees.

The new members include a legendary Canadian hockey coach, one of the country’s most successful Paralympians, a former president and CEO of the Saskatchewan Roughriders, as well as influential and committed community leaders and former Huskies.

“Our new Huskie Athletics board members bring a wealth of experience, knowledge and passion for sport and the University of Saskatchewan that will support our student-athletes in the classroom and in their sports,” said USask President Peter Stoicheff. “The broad experience of this group—including its seven community members and four USask senior leaders—will provide insight and advice on everything from student-athlete development and merchandising, to resource management, program planning, and community and corporate engagement.”

Stoicheff noted that each of the new board members has close ties to Saskatchewan.

“As proud supporters of Huskie Athletics, they will enhance our connection to the community while helping Huskie student-athletes achieve at a high national level,” Stoicheff said.

The newly appointed community members on the Board of Trustees are:

  • Scott Banda, CEO of Federated Co-operatives Limited, and a leader in the Canadian co-operative sector.
  • Colette Bourgonje, Olympic athlete, winner of three silver medals and seven bronze medals at 10 Winter and Summer Paralympic Games, and a member of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame.
  • Bob Fawcett, past president of the Saskatoon Minor Hockey association, prominent local volunteer, and member of the Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame.
  • Catherine Gryba, former senior executive for the City of Saskatoon, and community builder.
  • Jim Hopson, member of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame, former president and CEO of the Saskatchewan Roughriders, and educator.
  • Dave King OC, coach of the 1983 national champion men’s Huskie hockey team, and former NHL and Canadian Olympic team coach.
  • Peter Spafford, former Huskie hockey captain, Saskatoon surgeon, and community donor and supporter.

The USask representatives are: Debra Pozega Osburn, vice-president of university relations, Chad London, dean of the College of Kinesiology, Peta Bonham-Smith, dean of the College of Arts and Science, and Wade Epp, associate vice-president, services.

Stoicheff said Huskie Athletics is an integral part of the campus culture and creates countless connections in the community as mentors, volunteers and ambassadors for the university.

“We have more than 400 student-athletes working as hard in the classroom as they work in their sport,” said Stoicheff. “We are proud of the contributions they make to our university and the difference they make in our community. We want them to have the best experience we can offer, and our Board of Trustees will be very important in that regard.”

The new members will first meet in February 2020.

Share this story