Nelson Lokombo (left) was honoured Thursday night with the Presidents' Trophy as the defensive player of the year in U SPORTS football as the national award winners and all-Canadians were celebrated at the annual Vanier Cup gala. (Photo: GetMyPhoto.ca)

Huskie named U Sports defensive player of the year

University of Saskatchewan Huskies football star Nelson Lokombo has been named the defensive player of the year in the country.

The third-year defensive back was awarded the President’s Trophy as the top defender in U Sports football at the annual Vanier Cup awards banquet on Thursday night in Quebec City. Lokombo is only the second player in Huskie football history to be named top defensive player in the country. Lokombo recorded four interceptions and returned two for touchdowns, while also racking up 23.5 tackles on the season while helping lead the Huskies to a berth in the Hardy Cup Canada West final before falling to the University of Calgary Dinos.

Lokombo was also one of five Huskies named first-team All-Canadians, signifying the best players at their positions across the nation, the most Huskie all-Canadians since 2010. The other Huskies selected as All-Canadians this year were record-setting running back Adam Machart—runner-up to Western University quarterback Chris Merchant for the Hec Crighton Trophy as player of the year—along with offensive linemen Connor Berglof and Mattland Riley and defensive tackle Evan Machibroda.

For complete details on the Huskie national award winners, go to the Huskies website.

Share this story