Huskies running back Adam Machart. (Photo: Getmyphoto.ca)

Huskies haul in Canada West football awards

The University of Saskatchewan Huskies football team heads to Calgary for Saturday’s Hardy Cup final after winning five of the seven major awards in the Canada West conference announced Thursday.

Huskies head coach Scott Flory was named coach of the year, while league rushing leader Adam Machart was selected as player of the year and is now a finalist for the Hec Crighton Trophy as the most outstanding player in Canadian university football.

Three other Huskies also captured conference honours, including Edmonton Eskimos draft pick Evan Machibroda (most outstanding lineman), linebacker Ramsey Derbas (rookie of the year) and defensive back Nelson Lokombo (outstanding defensive player). This is the first time in history that the Huskies have earned five conference awards.

The Huskies will battle the Calgary Dinos in the Hardy Cup league championship game Saturday at 2 pm (SaskTel Channel 348, CJWW 600 radio, Canada West TV Presented by Co-op.)

More on the Huskie award winners is available on the Huskies website

Share this story