USask community members receive Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medals

Five members of the University of Saskatchewan (USask) community have received the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal (Saskatchewan), awarded to Saskatchewan residents for their contributions to the province or country.

The USask medal recipients were President Peter Stoicheff, Chancellor Grit McCreath, Board of Governors Chair Shelley Brown, board member Grant Devine and Special Projects Officer Namarta Kochar.  

Presented on Aug. 30 by Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty in a Regina ceremony, the commemorative medals were created to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the late Queen Elizabeth II’s ascension to the throne and recognizes time and effort dedicated to serving others in Canada, Saskatchewan and communities.  

A circular medal with a red, white and blue ribbon as well as a certificate honouring dedication to community was awarded to recipients at the official ceremony. Seven thousand Saskatchewan residents will receive the honour medal at ceremonies around the province throughout the Platinum Jubilee year, ending on Feb. 23, 2023. 

Find more information about the honour here.

Share this story