Herb McFaull headshot
Herb McFaull has been appointed for a three-year, renewable term to the University of Saskatchewan’s Board of Governors. (Photo: Submitted)

Government of Saskatchewan appoints McFaull to USask Board of Governors

The University of Saskatchewan (USask) is pleased to announce that the Government of Saskatchewan has appointed Herb McFaull to its Board of Governors.

“We look forward to welcoming Herb to our board, and extend deep appreciation for his willingness to serve and strengthen our University of Saskatchewan community,” said Shelley Brown, chair of the university’s board, who was also appointed for an additional three-year term. “His background and expertise are an outstanding addition to our governance structure.”

McFaull has served as President of McFaull Financial since 1985, a tradition carried on from his father Dr. J.Y. McFaull who founded the financial firm. He holds Certified Financial Planner ®(CFP®) and Registered Retirement Consultant designations ® (RRC®). McFaull is active in serving his community and has held a number of leadership roles in charitable organizations, and recently served as Chair of the Remai Modern Foundation and of Camp fYrefly Saskatchewan. His current volunteer activities include chair of the Planned Giving Advisory Committee for Royal University Hospital Foundation of Saskatoon. McFaull’s community contributions were recognized with a Saskatoon CTV Citizen of the Year award in 2014, and in 2017 with his receipt of the prestigious Jack Y. McFaull Memorial Award from Manulife.

“The opportunity to serve the University of Saskatchewan in this role is an honour,” said McFaull, who has been appointed for a three-year, renewable term. “I look forward to supporting the university’s governance and helping it advance and strengthen our province.”

McFaull replaces Ritu Malhotra whose term on the board expired. In addition to Brown, the terms of government appointees Grant Devine and Keith Martell have been extended for an additional three years.

“I want to thank Dr. Rita Malhorta for her service in this important governance role. The board appreciated her great insight and expertise,” said Brown, who is a USask graduate. “I also want to acknowledge the continued service by Mr. Grant Devine and Mr. Keith Martell; their contributions are greatly appreciated in our work to advance the shared priorities of the university and province.”

The University of Saskatchewan’s Board of Governors is responsible for overseeing and directing all matters respecting the management, administration and control of the university’s property, revenues and financial affairs.

The board consists of eleven members: the chancellor and the president of the university as ex officio members, five members appointed by through an Order in Council, two members elected by the University Senate, the president of the University of Saskatchewan Students’ Union and one faculty member elected by the faculty.

Together we will support and inspire students to succeed. We invite you to join by supporting current and future students' needs at USask.