PM appoints U of S President to national committee

Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced Feb. 1 the appointment of Peter MacKinnon, president of the University of Saskatchewan, to the Advisory Committee on the Public Service.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper with U of S President Peter MacKinnon at the Diefenbaker Canada Centre in Sept. 2010.
Photo by Liam Richards
"I am very pleased that Mr. MacKinnon has agreed to lend his expertise and perspective to the work of this committee," said Prime Minister Harper in a news release from his office. "I am confident his considerable experience will contribute to the committee's record of success."
The committee was established in November 2006 to provide an external perspective and expert advice to the Prime Minister and the Clerk of the Privy Council on the renewal and future development of public service.
The Committee is comprised of nine Canadians known for leadership in their professions and public life. On the committee, MacKinnon will be replacing University of Alberta President Indira Samarasekera, who was thanked by the Prime Minister for her valuable contribution.
According to the government's news release, the main objective of the Advisory Committee is to help ensure that the federal public service remains strong, dynamic and relevant. The Public Service of Canada is a vital national institution, with public servants delivering programs and services to millions of Canadians in every region of the country and around the world.
"I am pleased to be appointed to this committee," said MacKinnon. "The quality of public service is vital to the future of our country, and I hope to contribute to its renewal and future development."
Share this story