U of S Alumni Association honours award recipients

The University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association invites media to attend the Honouring Our Alumni Achievement Awards reception and presentations:

Thursday, October 23

Reception: 5:30 pm

Awards presentation: 6:30 pm

Louis' Loft, Memorial Union Building, U of S campus

Saskatoon, SK

The 2014 recipients are:

Leanne Bellegarde (LLB'91) for her leadership in advancing Aboriginal partnerships.

Merlis Belsher (BComm'57, LLB'63) for his dedicated service and philanthropy to the University of Saskatchewan.

Shannon Dyck, young alumni recipient* (BA'09, MES'12) for her volunteerism and commitment to environment and sustainability initiatives.

Fred Fulton (BSA'50, PGD'68, MCtgEd'72) for his significant contributions to the University of Saskatchewan and the agricultural industry.

Dr. Donald Greve (BA'58, MD'60) for his leadership as a community builder and commitment to the arts.

The Hon. Terry Lake (DVM'86) for his dedicated public service and community leadership.

Scott McCreath (BComm'69) for his professional excellence, community involvement and philanthropy.

Heather Morrison, young alumni recipient* (BFA'08) for her contribution to theatre and the arts and her volunteerism.

Mike O'Kane (BE'92, MSc'96) for his role as a global leader in business and industry.

Sheila Pocha (BEd'86, PGD'97, MEd'00) for her leadership and contributions to Aboriginal initiatives and education.

Andrew Schmitz (BSA'63, MSc'65, DLitt'99) for his significant contributions to education, agriculture and economics.

Recipient biographies can be found at alumni.usask.ca/achieve.

Each year, the Alumni Achievement Awards are presented to U of S graduates who advance the reputation of the University of Saskatchewan and the Alumni Association. Award recipients are chosen for their outstanding achievements and innovation; commitment to excellence; community engagement and leadership; and contributions to the social, cultural and economic well-being of society.


*Young alumni recipients are subject to the same criteria, and they must be under 35 years of age and have graduated from the U of S no more than 10 years ago.

For more information, contact:

Derrick Kunz, Alumni Relations Consultant

University of Saskatchewan


Share this story