U of S College of Law welcomes inaugural Estey Chair in Business Law

The U of S College of Law welcomes Professor Roderick Wood as the first-ever holder of the Estey Chair in Business Law. He was appointed for a one-year term beginning July 1, 2014 by the college's search committee with the advice of John and Bill Estey.

"I am ecstatic to have Professor Wood join our faculty as a chairholder in the area of business law," said Sanjeev Anand, dean of the College of Law. "His reputation as a highly accomplished Canadian legal academic and an outstanding teacher is second-to-none. With his comprehensive experience in the areas of secured transactions law, commercial law, bankruptcy and insolvency law, and debtor-creditor law, he will undoubtedly serve our students and the wider legal community well."

The chair position, established by John and Bill Estey, sons of the late Willard "Bud" Estey, former Supreme Court of Canada Justice, will help position the College of Law as one of Canada's leading institutions in business law.

Wood obtained his LLB from the University of Saskatchewan in 1980. It was at the College of Law that he first began teaching courses in commercial transactions as a sessional lecturer from 1985 to 1987.

"I am absolutely thrilled to return to the University of Saskatchewan where I have a deep and enduring connection to my hometown of Saskatoon and to the College of Law," said Wood. "I welcome the generous opportunity provided by the Estey Chair to be able to pursue my research in a more sustained level and to pass on this knowledge to aspiring lawyers through my teaching at the college and to the wider legal community through outreach activities."

Wood is currently the F.R. (Dick) Matthews Q.C. Professor of Business Law at the Faculty of Law, University of Alberta. He has co-authored books on secured transactions law in Canada and New Zealand, is the author of a treatise on Canadian bankruptcy and insolvency law, and has written over two dozen articles in various law journals. He is the 2004 recipient of the Tevie H. Miller Teaching Excellence Award, a 2005 recipient of the AC Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching at the University of Alberta, and a 2006 recipient of a McCalla Professorship for his contribution to research in law at the University of Alberta.

Wood was a member of the Canadian delegation at Diplomatic Conferences in Luxembourg in 2007 and Berlin in 2012 that produced international instruments governing the secured financing of rail assets and space assets. He was also a member of the drafting committee that produced the text of the Luxembourg Protocol to the Unidroit Convention on International Interests in Mobile Equipment.


For more information, contact:

Sarah Trefiak, Communications Officer

College of Law, University of Saskatchewan

306-966-1062 | sarah.trefiak@usask.ca
Share this story