More than 3,300 students graduating this spring from University of Saskatchewan

The University of Saskatchewan invites media to spring convocation.

By James Shewaga

June 1 to 4, 2015
TCU Place, 35 22nd Street East, Saskatoon

 A total of 3,375 students are graduating this spring from the University of Saskatchewan. These graduates join a community of more than 143,000 alumni who, year after year, continue to build upon the success of those before them. U of S alumni include a Canadian prime minister, Nobel Prize winners, award-winning authors and artists, groundbreaking researchers, successful business executives and accomplished athletes.

All ceremonies will be streamed live starting June 1.

Convocation story ideas

  • The 100th anniversary of Annie Maude (Nan) McKay, the first Métis and first Aboriginal woman to graduate from the University of Saskatchewan.

  • More than 360 Aboriginal students will receive their degrees this spring.

  • Honorary degrees and awards will be presented to:

    • Honorary Doctor of Laws — Deborah Chatsis

    • Honorary Doctor of Laws — W. Brett Wilson

    • Honorary Doctor of Laws — Sara Williams

    • Honorary Doctor of Science — V. Mohan Malhotra

    • Honorary Doctor of Science — Bruce Robert Schnell

    • Honorary Doctor of Science— Carl Zylak

    • Earned Doctor of Science — Kailash Prasad

    • Master Teacher Award — Jay Wilson

    • President's Service Award — Rae Bourner

    • Distinguished Researcher Award — Adam Baxter-Jones

To members of the media who plan to attend convocation

  • Photographers may take photos from anywhere—except on the stage once the ceremonies begin

  • Reserved space for media is located on the second floor to the left of the stage (all other seats are reserved for the graduating students and their guests)

  • The route graduates use as they proceed to the stage must be kept clear 

Detailed convocation schedule

For morning ceremonies, the academic procession begins at 8:45 am, speeches at 9 am and graduates start walking across the stage at 10 am. For afternoon ceremonies, the academic procession begins at 1:45 pm, speeches at 2 pm and graduates start walking across the stage at 3 pm. See here for more information.

June 1:  2 pm ceremony

Graduating: Agriculture and Bioresources, and Engineering

Honorary Doctor of Science Degree: Mr. V. Mohan Malhotra

Mr. Malhotra's contributions in the field of concrete technology extend beyond the borders of any nation and have had global effects. Mr. Malhotra's work has involved the repurposing of industrial waste in the concrete industry, with significant implications for energy use and sustainability. His innovations and stewardship have even led the American Concrete Institute to describe him as their Ambassador to the World.

June 2:  9 am ceremony

Graduating: Arts and Science, Centre for Continuing and Distance Education, and School of Public Health

Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree: Ms. Deborah Chatsis

Ms. Chatsis has enjoyed a long and distinguished career in Ottawa, and across the globe as a member of Canada's Foreign Service, but she originally called Prince Albert home. A graduate of the University of Saskatchewan, and a member of the Ahtahkakoop First Nation, Ms. Chatsis has served as Canada's Ambassador to the Socialist Republic of Vietnam, and in various roles in other nations.

June 2:  2 pm ceremony

Graduating: Arts and Science, School of Environment and Sustainability, and School of Public Policy.

June 3:  9 am ceremony

Graduating: Edwards School of Business and Law

Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree: Mr. W. Brett Wilson

Many Canadians recognize Mr. W. Brett Wilson as a force in the business world, a philanthropist and as a popular television personality, but fewer realize that his professional journey began with a degree from the University of Saskatchewan. Proof that it is possible to succeed in business without sacrificing principles, Mr. Wilson has been featured on CBC Television's Dragon's Den and built a community that upholds the value of corporate social responsibility.

June 3:  2 pm ceremony

Graduating: Education

Honorary Doctor of Laws Degree: Ms. Sara Williams

Few can boast as many accomplishments in the fields of agriculture and horticulture as Ms. Sara Williams. Though born in Washington, Ms. Williams spent much of her professional life in Saskatchewan. After earning two degrees from the U of S, she authored and co-authored numerous books, many of which feature our own provincial flora. Ms. Williams retired from the university in 2001.

Master Teacher Award: Jay Wilson

Jay Wilson is a tireless leader on campus whose classes are the first to fill up come registration time. Wilson, the head of curriculum studies in the College of Education, regularly invents fresh ways to do things and is fearless in carrying them out, whether moving a class outdoors or appearing in a tuxedo for the premiere of his students' video projects.

June 4:  9 am ceremony

Graduating: Kinesiology, Medicine, Pharmacy and Nutrition, School of Physical Therapy and School of Public Health

Honorary Doctor of Science Degree: Mr. Bruce Schnell

Born in Maymont, Sask., and a graduate of the pharmacy program at the University of Saskatchewan, Mr. Schnell joined the faculty at the College of Pharmacy until becoming dean and, eventually, vice-president academic at the U of S. In addition to a career of service as a university administrator, Mr. Schnell has directed two national research projects, with implications for hospital pharmacy standards and practice across Canada and abroad.

Earned Doctor of Science Degree: Dr. Kailash Prasad

Dr. Kailash Prasad's research in the area of cardiology has made him a world leader in the fight against heart disease. He belongs to the Royal College of Physicians of Canada, American College of Cardiology, International College of Angiology and International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences, and holds eight US and Canadian patents.

President's Service Medal: Rae Bourner

Even after almost 40 years as an employee of the University of Saskatchewan, Rae Bourner's commitment to the institution, and the students it serves, has never wavered. She has been described as the glue that holds the College of Medicine together, but her care and concern for students is what generates the most admiration amongst her peers. Bourner has been a true "mom" who has "encouraged, cajoled, pushed, nagged, dragged, coaxed and carried countless learners through demanding programs and out into successful careers."

Distinguished Researcher Award: Adam Baxter-Jones

Adam Baxter-Jones is one of the world's foremost experts in the discipline of pediatric exercise science and is renowned for his research of children's growth and development. His many studies and leadership in this area have significantly altered how medical health communities view the role that exercise has on childhood growth and maturation. Baxter-Jones is currently the interim dean of the College of Graduate Studies and Research at the U of S.

June 4:  2 pm ceremony

Graduating: Dentistry, Nursing and Veterinary Medicine

Honorary Doctor of Science Degree: Dr. Carl Zylak

A graduate of the University of Saskatchewan College of Medicine, Dr. Carl Zylak went on to study radiology in Michigan. A member of many preeminent radiological associations in North America, Dr. Zylak has also been a visiting professor at more than 30 national and international institutions, as well as a faculty member for several international courses.


For more information, please contact:
James Shewaga
Media Relations Specialist
University of Saskatchewan
W: 306-966-1851 C: 306-270-5583