New scholarships funded in AgBio at U of S

The Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission is contributing $10,000 and $100,000 towards new undergraduate and graduate scholarships.

The scholarships will be awarded to students in the U of S College of Agriculture and Bioresources based on academic merit as well as the projected affect their studies may have on the wheat industry.

"Sask Wheat worked very closely with faculty at the University of Saskatchewan to create a scholarship program that will foster the outcomes that will be most beneficial to wheat producers in the province," said Bill Gehl, board chair of Sask Wheat.

"This new scholarship provides extraordinary support for graduate students," said Mary Buhr, dean of the College of Agriculture and Bioresources. "These funds will not only support more new and innovative research projects enhancing western wheat development, but will bring excellent new minds into the field and ultimately build expert capacity in the wheat sector."

To learn more about eligibility for these scholarship programs and how to apply, visit

Share this story