925 University of Saskatchewan students graduate this fall

SASKATOON –The University of Saskatchewan (U of S) invites members of the media to attend Fall Convocation.


Saturday, Oct. 22, 2016
TCU Place, 35 22nd Street East, Saskatoon

This fall, 925 students will graduate from the U of S. These graduates join a community of more than 150,000 alumni who, year after year, continue to build upon the success of those before them. U of S alumni include a Canadian prime minister, a Nobel Prize winner, award-winning authors and artists, groundbreaking researchers, successful business executives, and accomplished athletes.

All ceremonies will be streamed live.

Convocation story ideas:

  • The University of Saskatchewan’s Alumni Association is celebrating its 100-year anniversary
  • Honorary degrees and awards will be presented to:
    • William Deverell – Honorary Doctor of Letters
    • Karim (Kay) Nasser – Honorary Doctor of Science
    • Chris Clark, Western College of Veterinary Medicine – Master Teacher Award
    • Timothy Kelly, College of Arts and Science – New Researcher Award
    • Jane Alcorn, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition – Distinguished Graduate Supervisor Award
    • Carin Holroyd, College of Arts and Science – J.W. George Ivany Internationalization Award
    • Sarah Buhler, College of Law – Award for Distinction in Community-Engaged Teaching and Scholarship
    • John McKinnon, College of Agriculture and Bioresources – Award for Distinction in Outreach and Public Service
    • Liz Scott, School of Physical Therapy – President’s Service Award
    • Alice Louise Godson, College of Arts and Science – President’s Medal

To media who plan to attend convocation:

  • Photographers may take photos from anywhere—except on the stage once the ceremonies begin.
  • Reserved space for media is located on the second floor to the left of the stage (all other seats are reserved for the graduating students and their guests).
  • The route graduates use as they proceed to the stage must be kept clear.

Detailed convocation schedule:

For the morning ceremony, the academic procession begins at 8:45 am, speeches at 9 am and graduates start walking across the stage at 10 am. For the afternoon ceremony, the academic procession begins at 1:45 pm, speeches at 2 pm and graduates start walking across the stage at 3 pm. For the full convocation schedule, see: https://students.usask.ca/events/fall-convocation.php#Program


Saturday, Oct. 22 – 9 am
Graduating: University Language Centre, Arts and Science, Edwards School of Business, Johnson- Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, and School of Environment and Sustainability. 

Honorary Doctor of Science Degree: Karim (Kay) Nasser
Karim (Kay) Nasser is well known as one of the city’s leading property developers and philanthropists and a passionate long-time supporter of the University of Saskatchewan. The Nassers are well known for supporting a wide variety of community institutions, from the Remai Modern Art Gallery of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon Public Library, Saskatchewan Polytechnic and all four city hospitals.

J.W. George Ivany Internationalization Award: Carin Holroyd
As director of the International Studies Program, Carin Holroyd is active in on-campus activities and events, helping to raise the level of international engagement at the University of Saskatchewan. Holroyd is the president of the Japan Studies Association of Canada and the founder and president of the Vietnam Education Society, a charity devoted to addressing the challenges facing children in rural Vietnam.

New Researcher Award: Timothy Kelly
Timothy Kelly, is a prolific and highly-regarded researcher in sustainable energy. Kelly and his research group, world leaders in the field of photovoltaics, are working on a new generation of solar cells that can be produced more simply and cheaply using low-temperature processing methods.

Award for Distinction in Outreach and Public Service: John McKinnon
As a professor and chair of the Saskatchewan Beef Industry, John McKinnon has demonstrated exceptional and sustained commitment to research, outreach and education. He has done innovative research in nutrition and management, trained future industry leaders, and transferred expert knowledge and technologies to the beef industry. 

President’s Medal: Alice Louise Godson
Alice Louise Godson is graduating from the College of Arts and Science with a Bachelor of Arts Honours degree with High Honours in International Studies. In addition to extensive volunteer work, her overall academic performance was in the top two per cent.


Saturday, Oct. 22—2 pm
Graduating: Agriculture and Bioresources, Education, Engineering, Kinesiology, Law, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy and Nutrition, School of Physical Therapy, School of Public Health, and Veterinary Medicine.

Honorary Doctor of Letters Degree: William Deverell
William Deverell is one of Canada’s best-known novelists and an award-winning crime writer who has also been lauded for his work as a lawyer, journalist, environmentalist and civil rights activist. Deverell, 79, also created the hit CBC TV series Street Legal, which has been aired in more than 50 countries. 

Distinguished Graduate Supervisor: Jane Alcorn
A longtime faculty member in the College of Pharmacy and Nutrition, Jane Alcorn has provided exceptional attention and support while supervising 23 graduate students. In addition to her teaching and research activities, Alcorn is a member of the University of Saskatchewan’s multidisciplinary Drug Discovery and Development Research Group, advancing therapeutic strategies for the prevention and treatment of chronic disease. 

Master Teacher Award: Chris Clark
Since joining the Western College of Veterinary Medicine as a faculty member in 2002, Dr. Chris Clark has earned been honoured with a dozen teaching awards, among them two Norden Distinguished Teaching Awards, the most prestigious in veterinary medicine. His highly engaged, collaborative and innovative style—particularly in the area of team teaching—has earned him the respect of students and peers alike.

President’s Service Award: Liz Scott
For the past 25 years, Liz Scott has been an integral member of the administrative team for the School of Physical Therapy, keeping things running smoothly and helping to build a close and welcoming community. The commitment she brings to her position as executive assistant for the school has made her a role model for faculty, students and staff. 

Award for Distinction in Community-Engaged Teaching and Scholarship: Sarah Buhler
Since joining the College of Law in 2010, Sarah Buhler has developed a reputation as a scholar of access to justice, particularly in how members of marginalized communities experience the justice system. She oversees the clinical law program connected to Community Legal Assistance Services for Saskatoon Inner City (CLASSIC), which provides services to residents of Saskatoon who would not otherwise have access to support.



For more information, contact:

Jennifer Thoma
Media Relations Specialist
University of Saskatchewan

Kathy Munroe
Communications Officer
Vice-Provost Teaching and Learning
University of Saskatchewan

Share this story