U of S Alumni Association honouring award recipients

SASKATOON - The University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association invites members of the media to attend the Honouring Our Alumni Achievement Awards reception and presentations:

Thursday, October 20, 2016
Reception: 5:30 pm
Awards presentation: 6:30 pm
Marquis Hall, 97 Campus Drive
University of Saskatchewan

The 2016 recipients are:

Roma Franko (BA'59, BEd'61, MA'71) for her outstanding leadership in the arts and education.

Iain MacLean (BA'62, BEd'63) for his outstanding community leadership and commitment to education (Posthumous Award).

Grit McCreath (BEd'91) for her outstanding volunteerism, philanthropy and public service.

Ross Phillips (MSc'11), young alumni recipient,* for his commitment to athletics, sports and wellness and environmentalism.

Dr. Bruce Reeder (MD'76) for his commitment to the medical profession and his dedication to public service and international aid.

Noelle Rohatinsky (BSN'02, MN'08, PhD'13) for her commitment to the nursing profession and her dedication to Aboriginal health initiatives.

Ashley Smith (LLB'07), young alumni recipient,* for her community leadership, achievement in the arts, and her contribution to the legal profession.

Myron Stadnyk (BE'85) for his outstanding community service through philanthropy and his contributions to the energy industry.

Paul Suchan (BEd'07, BMusED'07), young alumni recipient,* for his significant contributions to the arts and music education.

 Dr. John Wedge (MD'69) for his commitment to advancing the medical profession and his dedication to public service.

 Audrey Zettl (BSN'63) for her outstanding achievement and service in Aboriginal initiatives and education.


Recipient biographies can be found at alumni.usask.ca/achieve.

Each year, the Alumni Achievement Awards are presented to U of S graduates who advance the reputation of the University of Saskatchewan and the Alumni Association. Award recipients are chosen for their outstanding achievements and innovation, commitment to excellence, community engagement and leadership, and contributions to the social, cultural and economic well-being of society.

*Young alumni recipients are subject to the same criteria, but also must be under 35 years of age and have graduated from the U of S no more than 10 years ago.


For more information, contact:
Leslie-Ann Schlosser
Communications Co-ordinator, Alumni Relations
University of Saskatchewan

Share this story