Nine hundred University of Saskatchewan students set to graduate

The University of Saskatchewan (U of S) invites media to fall convocation:

Saturday, Oct. 28
Two ceremonies – 9 am and 2 pm,
TCU Place, 35 22nd Street East, Saskatoon

This fall, 901 students are graduating from the U of S. These graduates join a century-old community of more than 150,000 alumni worldwide whose contributions are helping to shape our world.

All ceremonies will be streamed live.

To media who plan to attend convocation:

  • Photographers may take photos from anywhere—except on the stage once the ceremonies begin.
  • Reserved space for media is located on the second floor to the left of the stage (all other seats are reserved for the graduating students and their guests).
  • The route graduates use as they proceed to the stage must be kept clear.


For the morning ceremony, the academic procession begins at 8:45 am, speeches at 9 am and graduates start walking across the stage at 10 am. For the afternoon ceremony, the academic procession begins at 1:45 pm, speeches at 2 pm and graduates start walking across the stage at 3 pm. For the full convocation schedule, see: convocation program

Graduating: University Language Centre, Arts and Science, Edwards School of Business, School of Environment and Sustainability, and Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy

Honorary degree and award recipients:

  • Honorary Doctor of Science, Dr. Ali Rajput—A distinguished professor emeritus and pioneer in the field of Parkinson's research, whose discoveries over the last five decades have made him a world-leading authority in the field.
  • Master Teacher Award, Chelsea Willness—A passionate champion of community-engaged scholarship, Willness has mastered the art of creating authentic learning communities.
  • Distinguished Researcher Award, Maureen Reed—Internationally recognized for her work on the social dimensions of sustainability and multi-level environmental governance.
  • New Researcher Award, Andrew Grosvenor—Through X-ray spectroscopy Grosvenor’s research is answering critical questions relevant to the energy and mining sectors.

Graduating: Agriculture and Bioresources, Education, Engineering, Kinesiology, Law, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy and Nutrition, Physical Therapy, Public Health, and Veterinary Medicine

Honorary degree and award recipients:

  • Honorary Doctor of Laws, Harold Chapman—Chapman has spent a lifetime committed to the co-operative movement as a builder and educator in the province.
  • Internationalization Award, Carol Henry— associate professor of nutrition and dietetics and assistant dean in nutrition and dietetics. Henry’s efforts have enhanced learning experiences for students through study abroad and exchange programs in Uganda, Ethiopia and the Caribbean.
  • Distinguished Graduate Supervisor Award, Carey Simonson—professor and graduate chair in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Simonson, has supervised 50 graduate and postdoctoral students.
  • President’s Service Award, Margret Asmuss—The go-to person for sustainability at the U of S.

For more information, contact:

Meghan Sired
Communications Co-ordinator
University of Saskatchewan
Cell: 306-381-7992

Share this story