Thursday at U of S Spring Convocation

SASKATOON – The University of Saskatchewan (U of S) invites media to cover today’s spring convocation ceremonies at TCU Place:

Thursday, June 8, 2017

TCU Place, 35 22nd Street East, Saskatoon


Graduating: Kinesiology, Medicine, Pharmacy and Nutrition, School of Physical Therapy, Veterinary Medicine.

Honorary Doctor of Laws: Hayley Wickenheiser
(Media interview availability at 12:15 pm)

Widely regarded as the world’s greatest women’s hockey player, Hayley Wickenheiser is the all-time leader in scoring in the history of Canada’s national women’s team and an inspiration for generations of young female players. Originally from Shaunavon, Sask., she played 23 seasons with the national team, retiring in January as a five-time Olympic medallist (including four straight gold medals from 2002 to 2014). Chosen Canada’s female athlete of the year in 2007, Wickenheiser was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2011 and was inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame in 2014.

New Research Award: Maud Ferrari

A behavioural and evolutionary ecologist, associate professor Maud Ferrari is a renowned researcher in the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, specializing in Veterinary Biomedical Sciences. Ferrari earned a BSc at Université Grenoble 1 and PhD at the U of S, followed by post-doctoral work at University of California-Davis. Ferrari won the NSERC Doctoral Prize for Best Canadian PhD Thesis in Natural Sciences and Governor General’s Gold Medal for Best PhD Thesis at U of S.


Graduating: Dentistry, Nursing.

Honorary Doctor of Laws: Herb Pinder Jr.
(Media interview availability upon request)

A successful entrepreneur, lawyer and former NHL player agent, Herb Pinder Jr. has served on the boards of more than 40 public and private businesses, crown corporations and non-profit organizations. Pinder, who earned a bachelor’s degree at the U of S, won a bronze medal playing hockey for Canada in the 1968 Winter Olympics. Pinder has served as president of Pinder’s Drugs, Goal Sports Corp., and the Regina Pats, and is currently president of the Saskatoon-based Goal Group, a private equity management firm.

President’s Service Award: Pamela Komonoski

Pam Komonoski has more than 30 years of health-care experience—the majority serving the campus community as a nurse practitioner at the U of S. After beginning her career at Royal University Hospital, she joined the U of S Student Health Centre in 1988. Komonoski’s technical expertise and compassion has greatly enhanced the work environment and patient experience at the campus clinic and she goes above and beyond clinical duties to collaborate with student groups and support student-run initiatives.

Distinguished Researcher Award: Howard Wheater

An internationally renowned researcher, Howard Wheater is a Canada Excellence Research Chair in Water Security and serves as the director of the Global Institute for Water Security at the U of S and the director of the Global Water Futures program. Wheater, a Distinguished Research Fellow and Emeritus Professor of Hydrology at Imperial College London, U.K., has authored more than 200 peer-reviewed journal papers, 33 books and book chapters, and has supervised 60 PhD and 100 master’s students.


To media who plan to attend convocation:

  • Photographers may take photos from anywhere—except on the stage once the ceremonies begin
  • Reserved space for media is located on the second floor to the left of the stage (all other seats are reserved for the graduating students and their guests)
  • The route graduates use as they proceed to the stage must be kept clear at all times



For more information, contact:

Murray Lyons
Media Relations Specialist
University of Saskatchewan


Kathy Munroe
Communications Officer
Vice-Provost Teaching and Learning
University of Saskatchewan
Office: 306-966-1255 Cell: 306-370-6305

Share this story