U of S Alumni Association honouring award recipients

SASKATOON - The University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association invites members of the media to attend the Alumni Achievement Awards reception and presentations:

Thursday, Oct. 26, 2017
Reception: 5:30 pm
Awards presentation: 6 pm
Marquis Hall, 97 Campus Drive
University of Saskatchewan

The 2017 recipients are:

Dr. Gregg Adams (DMV’82) presented for his excellence in education and research.

Dr. John Conly (MD’78) presented for his commitment to advancing the medical profession and his dedication to public service.

Max FineDay (BA’15), young alumni recipient, presented for his excellence in Aboriginal initiatives and community leadership.

Sherril Gelmon (Physio’76), presented for her outstanding contributions to education and research.

Jo-Ann Hnatiuk (BSN’95), presented for her outstanding public service.

Dr. David Mulder (MD’62), presented for his commitment to athletics, sports, wellness, education and research.

Jeff Norris (BA’97), presented for his outstanding community leadership and philanthropy.

Brian Towriss (BComm’78), presented for his commitment to athletics, sports and wellness.

Ralph Young (BE’67), presented for his excellence in business and industry, and community service.


Recipient biographies can be found at alumni.usask.ca/achieve.

Each year, the Alumni Achievement Awards are presented to U of S graduates who advance the reputation of the University of Saskatchewan and the Alumni Association. Award recipients are chosen for their outstanding achievements and innovation, commitment to excellence, community engagement and leadership, and contributions to the social, cultural and economic well-being of society.

*Young alumni recipients are subject to the same criteria, but also must be under 40 years of age and have graduated from the U of S no more than 10 years ago.


For more information, contact:
Sean Conroy
Communications Specialist, Alumni Relations
University of Saskatchewan

Share this story