Pewaseskwan at USask invites media to research partnership ceremony

ST. PHILIPS, SASK. – Members of the media are invited to attend a research partnership ceremony between pewaseskwan Indigenous Wellness Research Group (IWRG) at the University of Saskatchewan (USask), The Key First Nation, and Yorkton Tribal Council.

  • When: Friday, Aug. 12, 2022, at 10am
  • Where:
  • Available spokespeople: Pewaseskwan’s co-leader Dr. Alexandra King, and representatives of The Key First Nation, and Yorkton Tribal Council

Media wishing to attend are requested to RSVP to pewaseskwan communications as soon as possible. Due to the current pandemic, strict safety and health protocols will be enforced.


Pewaseskwan is a Cree term that means “the sky is starting to clear” or “the weather is improving.” The term reflects an opportunity to get out on the land after a storm for Indigenous communities. For Dr. Alexandra King (MD) and the IWRG, it reflects optimism for a healthier future, bringing together the best of Indigenous and Western worldviews through etuaptmumk, a Two-eyed Seeing approach utilizing Indigenous and Western knowledges together.

The Key First Nation band – originally the followers of Chief Owtahpeekakaw (“He Who Unlocks” or “The Key”) – includes members with Saulteaux, Saulteaux-Cree and Saulteaux-Orkney ancestry. Since the middle of the 19th century, the band resided in the vicinity of the Shoal River in southwestern Manitoba, when Chief Owtahpeekakaw signed on to Treaty 4 in 1875, but relocated to its present-day location 370 kilometres east of Saskatoon. Today, the Key First Nation is challenged by all of the impacts of colonization, especially in areas like economic development, education and health. 

Yorkton Tribal Council is a not-for-profit organization that provides essential services to 6 Member Nations (Cote, Keeseekoose, The Key, Zagime Anishinabek, Kahkewistahaw and Ocean Man First Nations) in the Treaty 4 territory. It provides quality services in the areas of health and social development, education, employment and training, justice, technical/housing services and economic development to the member nations. 


For media inquiries, contact:

Sarah MacDonald
Pewaseskwan Communications Officer

Share this story