U of S Senate elects members to Board of Governors

The University of Saskatchewan (U of S) Senate has elected two members to the university’s Board of Governors for three-year terms.

The senate appointees are Allan Adam and Joy Crawford. Crawford was elected for a second term and Adam replaces outgoing board member Daphne Arnason, whose term expired.

“I want to thank Daphne Arnason for her tireless effort as a member of our board. Her contribution and service to our university is greatly appreciated,” said Beth Bilson, university secretary. “I look forward to continuing to work with Joy and welcome Allan as a new member. Your work as members of the board will strengthen not only our institution, but also our province.”

  • Allan Adam, a U of S senate member since 2015, has extensive experience in government relations federally, provincially and territorially. Currently the CEO of Dene Language Consultant, Adam provides translation services and strategic advice on Aboriginal governance, Indigenous rights and more. The former Dene vice-chief, FSIN, and Former Chief of Fond du Lac Dene, Adam has more than 30 years of experience in northern issues. From 1999 to 2012, Adam was a lecturer at the Northern Teacher Education Program where he taught Dene language skills. Adam’s expertise has been sought after by numerous organizations including the Indian Claims Commission and the Saskatchewan Justice Ministry, and mining companies Areva and Cameco.
  • Joy Crawford is a certified management accountant currently employed at Nutrien. In June 2014, Crawford completed her second and final three-year term as a U of S senator. For six years she served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors, including one as president. She currently sits as director and treasurer on the Board of Directors for Quint Development Corporation and is an account executive, Business and Industry Committee, for the United Way of Saskatoon and Area. From 2008 to 2011, she served as a director and treasurer on the Saskatoon Co-operative Association Board of Directors. Previously, she served as a member of the City of Saskatoon Municipal Planning Commission.

The U of S Board of Governors meets five times per year, and is responsible for overseeing and directing all matters respecting the management, administration and control of the university’s property, revenues and financial affairs.

The board consists of 11 members: five appointed by the Government of Saskatchewan (currently Lee Ahenakew, Shelley Brown, Grant Devine, Grant Isaac and Ritu Malhotra), one student member (currently David D’Eon), one faculty member elected by the faculty (currently Dr. Jay Kalra), two members appointed by University Senate (Adam and Crawford), and two ex-officio members (currently President Peter Stoicheff and Chancellor Roy Romanow).

Share this story