Brian Towriss

Towriss inducted to hall of fame

Former Huskies football coach Brian Towriss is now part of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame.

The winningest coach is Canadian football history was inducted on Thursday as a builder alongside Stan Schwartz, as well as players Mike O’Shea, Anthony Calvillo, Geroy Simon and Kelvin Anderson.

In his 33 years as head coach (1984-2016), Towriss won three Vanier Cups. He also coached 71 All-Canadians and 154 Canada West conference all-stars, 160 players who were All-Academic team members, and 47 Huskies who have gone on to play professionally in the Canadian Football League. He joined a prestigious group in 2007 when he earned the Order of Merit, Saskatchewan’s highest honour.

Read more at the Regina Leader-Post.

Share this story