From left: USask students Michelle Harrison and Taran Kozun have been named the top athletes of the year. (Photo:

Harrison, Kozun named Huskie Athletics' top athletes

Huskie Athletics unveiled their major award winners while also honouring the incredible achievements of the 2019-20 season with University of Saskatchewan (USask) students Michelle Harrison and Taran Kozun being named the top athletes of the year.

Kozun wins the E. Kent Phillips Trophy for Male Athlete of the Year for the second straight season, while Harrison is 18th track & field athlete to win the Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy for Female Athlete of the Year, according to an announcement by Huskie Athletics.

Harrison won five medals and set three records between the conference and national championship meets. Winning gold in both the 60-metre hurdles and the 4x200-metre relay at the Canada West championships in Saskatoon, Harrison also set new conference marks in both those distances to help the Huskies win their third consecutive conference banner.

On the national stage, she set a new national record in the 60-metre hurdles, crossing the line in a time of 8.13 seconds. Harrison also helped the 4x200- and 4x400-meter relay teams to silver medals. Harrison's time in the 60-metre hurdles is not only the top time in U SPORTS, but of all Canadian runners in 2020.

Goaltender Kozun continued to turn heads in his third season with the Huskie men's hockey team being named the Canada West and U SPORTS Goaltender of the Year for the second straight season while also earning Player of the Year honours in 2019-20, becoming the first athlete in U SPORTS history to win both Goaltender and Player of the Year. 

The product of Nipawin led the conference in wins (17), goals against average (1.87), save percentage (.931) and tied his own conference record with five shutouts while moving into first in Huskie history in career shutouts. To cap it all off, Kozun became just the second Canada West goalie, and first to do so by actually shooting the puck, to score a goal.

Huskie Athletics announced five other major award winners while also featuring the achievements of the athletes of USask’s 15 athletic teams. Canada West and U SPORTS All-Stars/All-Canadians and award winners, along with fifth-year athletes were also honoured.

Read more at Huskie Athletics.

Major Award Winners:

Patricia Lawson Trophy Female Rookie of the Year – Halle Krynowsky, soccer

Howard Nixon Trophy Male Rookie of the Year – Carson Lee, wrestling

Kent Phillips Trophy Male Athlete of the Year – Taran Kozun, hockey

Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy Female Athlete of the Year – Michelle Harrison, track & field

Rusty McDonald Cup All-Round Male – Evan Machibroda, football

Valerie Girsberger All-Round Female – Megan Ahlstrom, basketball

Colb McEwon Trophy Coach of the Year – Lisa Thomaidis, women's basketball

Trainer of the Year – Ben Taylor, track & field and cross country